Toronto Ottawa Heart Summit - Heart Failure Update

Faculty 2024

University of Toronto Faculty

Sandra Black, OC, O.Ont., MD, FRCP(C), FRSC, FAAN, FAHA, FANA
Stephen Fremes, MD, M.Sc., FRCSC, FACP, FACC
Paula Harvey, BMBS, PhD, FRACP
Susanna Mak, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Philip McFarlane, MD, FRCPC, PhD

University of Ottawa Faculty

Robert Dent, MD, FRCPC
Peter Liu, MD, FRCPC, FACC
Ruth McPherson, BSc, MSc, PhD, MD, FRCPC
Hassan Mir, MD, FRCPC
Ian Paterson, MD, FRCP
F. Daniel Ramirez, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Ruth Slack, PhD
Vanessa Taler, PhD

Guest Faculty

Louis Bherer, PhD
University of Montreal

Janine Eckstein, MD, FRCPC
University of Saskatchewan

Mitchell Elkind, MD, MS, MPhil, FAHA
Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Michael E. Farkouh, MD, FRCPC, MSc, FACC, FAHA
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, California

Jessica Forcillo, MD, MPH, PhD, FRCSC
Université de Montréal

Michelle Graham, MD, FRCPC, FCCS
University of Alberta

Kendra J. Grubb, MD, MHA, FACC
Emory University School of Medicine

Carolyn Yung Ho, MD
Harvard Medical School

Sunil V. Kalmady, PhD, MSc (Med. Biotech), MSc (Comp. Sci)
University of Albert

Mikhail N. Kosiborod, MD, FACC, FAHA
University of Missouri-Kansas City

Peter Lin, MD, CCFP
Canadian Heart Research Centre, Ontario, Canada

Donald M. Lloyd-Jones, MD, ScM
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Michael McGillion, BScN, PhD
McMaster University

Steven Nissen, MD
Cleveland Clinic Main Campus

Srinath K. Reddy, DM, MB, BS, MD
Public Health Foundation of India

Roopinder K. Sandhu, MD, MPH, FRHS
University of Calgary

Soori T. Sivakumaran, MD, FRCPC
University of Alberta

Teresa Tsang, MD, FRCPC, FACC, FASE
University of British Columbia

Trainees (2024)

Eliza Calin, MD
Veronica F. Chan, MD
Yoshito Kadoya MD, PhD
Bethlehem Mengesha, MD
Onur Mehmet Omaygenc, MD
Tammy Ryan, MD, PhD

Program Directors


Chief Scientific Officer/VP of Research, University of Ottawa Heart Institute
Professor of Medicine, University of Ottawa



Associate Dean for Research and Clinical Trials, Cedars Sinai California



Professor of Medicine
Director, Division of Cardiology
University of Alberta and Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute


About us

The Toronto Ottawa Heart Summit has held successful symposia for the last 25 years. Join us at our next event where we will celebrate our 26th anniversary.

Opt-in/Opt-out of Email Lists

In compliance with anti-spam initiatives: